Davison school board gets two new members, Grand Blanc reelects incumbents | #Education

GENESEE COUNTY, MI – Alicia Hensley and Kurtis McMahan are the two newest members of the Davison Community Schools Board of Education.

They were the top vote-getters in a race for two open seats on the Davison board, according to unofficial election results from Genesee County.

McMahan and Hensley toppled Diane Rhines, who currently serves as board secretary and was the only incumbent on the ballot.

Eric Lieske, one of the two incumbents with seats that opened in November, decided to not run for another term.

Rhines will not return to her position for another 6-year term.

Hensley is a lifetime Davison resident, graduate of Davison schools and a licensed social worker. She’s vowed to advocate for mental health services, proper allocations for special education and advocate for the needs of students, parents and educators if elected.

McMahan is a member of the Davison Township Downtown Development Authority and board member on the Davison Educational Foundation. He vowed on social media to “keep integrity” in Davison schools by joining the board.

Here is the full vote tally from Tuesday, Nov. 8:

Davison Board of Education

Alicia Hensley: 4,269

Kurtis McMahan: 3,367

Kurt Minto: 3,172

Diane Rhines: 3,128

Amber Wright: 3,107

Selena Hurley: 1,928

Kyle Robinson: 1,627

Dustin Rhinebolt: 753

In August, the board ousted a trustee after it was discovered that he was no longer living within the district – one of the rules for being a school board member.

Nicholas Goyette, who lost Tuesday in a run for Genesee County District 3 County Commissioner, originally denied living outside the school district, but he later admitted to it with a statement on social media.

Goyette was replaced by Holly Halabicky, a longtime Davison Community Schools administrator who was selected by the Genesee Intermediate School District.

Grand Blanc reelects incumbents

Sue Kish, Yasmeen Youngs, Meredith Anderson and Ryan Yelen were all reelected to the Grand Blanc Community Schools Board of Education in the Nov. 8 election, according to unofficial results.

Kish, Youngs and Anderson were all elected for full six-year terms. Yelen, who was appointed in February 2022, was elected to a partial term ending in 2026.

Each incumbent overwhelmingly won spots on the board for new terms. The next highest vote-getter for a full term had about 12% of the vote, compared to Anderson, Kish and Youngs who all had 17% of the vote or more.

Here are the unofficial results:

Grand Blanc Board of Education

Sue Kish: 10,571

Yasmeen Youngs: 9,252

Meredith Anderson: 8,195

Joe Johnson: 5,822

April Delor: 4,164

Patricia Jones: 4,015

Cathy Scott: 3,921

Charlise Orr: 2,216

Grand Blanc Board of Education (partial term)

Ryan Yelen: 10,300

Shelly Sheeran: 6,535

Read more at The Flint Journal:

Drunk Michigan poll worker arrested after making violent threats, police say

Election results for Nov. 8 midterm in Genesee County

Grand Blanc High School released early while police investigate Snapchat threat

In past decade, Flint schools have lost 66% of their students

SpaceX launch to include Grand Blanc ninth graders’ blueberry experiment

Source by [author_name]