Election 2020: West Islip Voter Guide | #coronavirus | #kids. | #children | #schools

WEST ISLIP, NY — Voters in West Islip will head to the polls Tuesday, Nov. 3, for the 2020 general election.

In addition to the presidential and congressional races, there are several key races at the state and local level. Voting will be different this year thanks to rules approved to expand early and mail-in voting in light of the coronavirus pandemic.

The deadline to register to vote is Oct. 24. You can check your voting status on the Secretary of State’s website, where you can also find your polling place.

There are several ways residents can vote:

Vote-by-mail applications must be received by the Suffolk County clerk by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 27.

The ballot itself must either be personally delivered to the board of elections no later than the close of polls on Election Day, or postmarked by a governmental postal service not later than the day of the election and received no later than the 7th day after the election.

Early Voting

Early voting starts on Oct. 24 and runs until Nov. 1.

There are 12 early voting locations in Suffolk County. This closest to West Islip is located at Babylon Town Hall on 281 Phelps Lane in North Babylon. Click here to see the full list of locations.

The times the locations are open vary by date.

  • Oct. 24: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Oct. 25: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Oct. 26: 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Oct. 27: Noon to 8 p.m.
  • Oct. 28: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Oct. 29: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Oct. 30: Noon to 8 p.m.
  • Oct. 31: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Nov. 1: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Voting on Election Day

Polls in New York are open 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Election Day.

You can find your assigned polling place by visiting the New York State Board of Elections website.

For questions about voting in Suffolk, contact the Suffolk County Board of Elections at 631-852-4500.

Key Races

The following are the key contested races that will be on the ballot for West Islip voters.

President/Vice President

Donald Trump/Mike Pence Republican

Joe Biden/Kamala Harris Democrat

Howie Hawkins/Angela Nicole Walker Green

Jo Jorgensen/Jeremy Cohen Libertarian

Brock Pierce/Karla Ballard Independence

Justice of the Supreme Court – 10th Judicial District (Elect 8)

Valerie Cartright Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

Randy Sue Marber Democratic, Republican, Conservative

Derrick Robinson Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

Erica Prager Democratic, Republican, Conservative

Kathy Bergmann Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

Joseph Conway Democratic, Republican, Conservative

Timothy Mazzei Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

Gary Knobel Democratic, Republican, Conservative

Bryan Browns Independence

Patricia Blake Independence

Randy Berler Independence

Evan Tanenbaum Independence

Suffolk County Court Judge (Elect 2)

Stephen Braslow Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

James Hudson Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

Family Court Judge (Elect 2)

Caren Loguercio Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

James Malone Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Independence

2nd Congressional District

Jackie Gordon Democratic Working Families, Independence

Andrew Garbarino Republican, Conservative, Libertarian, SAM

Harry Burger Green

4th Senatorial District

Christine Pellegrino Democratic, Working Families

Philip Boyle Republican, Conservative, Independence

Member of Assembly – 9th District

Ann Brancato Democratic, Working Families

Michael Durso Republican, Conservative, Libertarian, Independence

Member of Assembly, 10th Assembly District – Elect 1

Town of Islip District Court Judge – 5th District

Alonzo Jacobs Democratic

Pierce Cohalan Republican, Conservative, Independence

Jennifer Henry Republican, Conservative, Independence

Source link