Site icon Parent Security Online

Nuxhall Miracle League celebrates 10th year as Nuxy Bash returns | #specialneeds | #kids

FAIRFIELD – Twenty-six recent Butler County high school graduates will receive scholarships July 30 during the 10th anniversary of the Joe Nuxhall Miracle League Fields and the return of the Nuxy Bash.

The event begins at 7 p.m. and includes a 7:30 p.m. celebrity baseball game and ends with a 10 p.m. Rozzi fireworks show at the field, 4850 Groh Lane.

Among the celebrities are WKRC-TV anchors Sheila Gray and Bob Herzog, former anchor John Lomax, former Cincinnati Reds pitcher Scott Williamson, and Reds bat boy Teddy Kremer.

“It’s really just a celebration of 10 years of amazing community support,’’ said Kim Nuxhall, president and chairman of The Nuxhall Foundation

Each year the Nuxhall Foundation and the Fairfield Community Foundation give $2,000 to each of Butler County’s 14 public and private high schools to award to student-athletes.

More:Tributes pour in for Donzetta Nuxhall, Joe’s widow, who died Thursday at the age of 93

More:Joe Nuxhall Miracle League Fields has a new mascot to help encourage special needs athletes

The schools decide whether to give the Joe Nuxhall Memorial Scholarship to a single athlete or split the money into two scholarships, awarding one to a male an to a female student. Those selected must show character as well as athletic and academic prowess.

“These students represent all the things that dad valued, and we are honored to support their dreams for a college education,” Nuxhall said.

“These are the types of students Dad would have loved—motivated, team-oriented, and character-driven.”

The scholarships were introduced in 1985 by former Cincinnati Reds player and broadcaster Joe Nuxhall, who died in 2007. More than $900,000 in scholarship dollars have been distributed since then.

“We want our Nuxhall scholars to be ‘five-tool players’ who have strong character, competence, commitment, communication skills, and compassion for others,” said Tyler Bradshaw, executive director of the Nuxhall Foundation.

 “There is no doubt that this diverse group of dreamers will represent Joe and the Nuxhall legacy proudly when they head out on their unique educational paths. We know they’ll honor The Ole Lefthander well by making an impact in the community he loved.”

Joe Nuxhall Memorial Scholarship winners

Those receiving the scholarships, by high school are:

  • Badin: Leo Hoppa.
  • Cincinnati Christian: Trevor Allen, Lauren Barr.
  • Edgewood: Radical Tothermel.
  • Fairfield: Samuel Crawley, Isabelle Ritzie.
  • Fenwick: Samantha Lorei, Keenan Norton.
  • Hamilton: Lilly Arvin, Curtus Moak.
  • Lakota East: Nick Rabin.
  • Lakota West: Jasmine Walker, Mitchell Weckman.
  • Madison: Layla Youtsler, Kelten Salyers.
  • Middletown: Josiah Nelson, Nora McGuffey.
  • Monroe: Noah Hesseon, Vanessa Temple.
  • New Miami: Jillian Proctor, Andrew Rapier.
  • Ross: Janielizabeth Anderson, Tyler Hood.
  • Talawanda: Madelynne Patton, Luke West Poley.

“Dad knew how truly fortunate he was with all that was bestowed upon him, but in the back of his mind he always would have liked to have had a college education,” Nuxhall said.

“In essence, that triggered his desire to help others go to college and make that dream come true in their own lives, and the scholarship fund has been doing just that.”

Source link

Exit mobile version