#parent | #kids | What is Vanish Mode on Instagram? Messaging feature explained!


Back in September, Instagram introduced a brand new messaging feature called vanish mode, but it’s only just becoming available to a lot of users in other parts of the world – here’s exactly what it is.

The ability to send messages that disappear after they’ve been sent and received is a feature that made Snapchat really popular.

Now, it seems as though Instagram and Messenger are jumping on the same idea with ‘vanish mode’.

Facebook introduced the feature on all of its apps last year, and it’s proving to be really popular amongst users.

So what is vanish mode? And how do you use it? Here’s everything you need to know.

What is Vanish Mode on Instagram?

Vanish mode is a messaging feature that Instagram launched at the end of 2020.

It allows you to send direct messages that disappear completely after a certain amount of time.

This means people can send private messages to each other with no chat history, allowing you to have a secret conversation with somebody without anyone ever finding out.

You can send messages, GIFs, photos and videos in vanish mode.

How to use Vanish Mode on Instagram

  • Open Instagram and head to the DM’s section.
  • Choose or create a DM thread with the person you want to message in vanish mode.
  • Swipe up on the screen to enable vanish mode.
  • The screen should now be black.
  • Select ‘view once’, ‘allow replay’ or ‘keep in chat’.

Instagram will notify if you screenshot in Vanish Mode

One important thing to note is that if you’re in vanish mode and take a screenshot of the chat, Instagram will notify the other person.

In the same way as screenshotting a Snapchat chat, a message appears in the conversation that says “you took a screenshot”.

There is no way to take a screenshot in vanish mode without Instagram notifying the other user.

Vanish Mode is available on Messenger too

If you’re a fan of vanish mode on Instagram, you can also use it on Facebook’s messaging app Messenger too.

It works in exactly the same way and can be accessed by swiping up on an existing chat thread.

If you want to return to the normal chat, all you have to do is swipe up again.

Facebook is slowly rolling out the feature to profiles across the world, so if vanish mode doesn’t work on your apps yet, you might need to wait a little longer.

In other news, What is Paul Bernon’s net worth? Fiancé Bethenny Frankel shows off engagement ring at the beach





Source link
.